PrintUI Forum

For PrintUI web-to-print and web-to-web solutions
It is currently Tue Oct 15, 2019 9:54 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Template revisions
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 5:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 12:06 am
Posts: 8
In the PrintUI documentation it says that deleting a template will cause any existing jobs using that template to be lost. If a template is updated could that also cause problems with any jobs using that template? If we need to update an existing template should we create a new version and leave the existing template alone?

Are jobs just stored as a collection of changes to the template and not an actual copy of the template itself?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Template revisions
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 9:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 11:36 pm
Posts: 15
In order to process a job into a PDF (or something else) the PrintUI server recombines an InDesign document with the page snippets that contain the edits made to the job as well as containing some formatting information. If your updates to the template are big enough, the snippets will not be able to properly be combined with the document, resulting in errors or who-knows-what. If you make very small changes, it might work. But the safest thing to do is to upload a new template using a new name.

If you delete a template, it's much worse. All of the existing PrintUI jobs are permanently deleted along with the template.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Template revisions
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 7:50 am
Posts: 15
To add to Peter's response:

If a template is changed post-facto, as long as the page size and page count is the same, old jobs can be rendered. Any elements on a non-editable layer will be rendered using the new content rather than the old.

Here's a few examples of use cases:
1) If you have a number of templates which use a company logo in the background layer, and the logo gets a redesign, you can safely update the templates with the new logo and all new renderings will show the new logo including old job.

2) If you have a 4 page brochure template that gets a major redesign and becomes 8 pages (or vice versa), do not expect to be able to render old jobs.

3) If you have a design which interacts with background elements and gets a redesign where everything moves around, renderings of old jobs will work, but will be a cross between the two designs.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group